The Raising of the Funds

Yes, it’s been a while since I posted. I was sick for a week and am just catching and getting back into the swing of things. Onwards and upwards!

Fundraising has been the one area that I probably was scared of the most when I started this whole adventure. I mean, I knew I could push myself to do the training and walk the entire distance, but asking people for money? THAT is hard. I decided early on, though, that there was no harm in asking.

I never did any “math” around my fundraising, i.e., how many people should I contact, assuming an average donation of $X … that’s just way too complicated. I just decided to ask everybody I know. The worst that could happen is that they never respond. No harm, no foul, right?

I guess I’m doing something right. As of today (April 26), I’m at 61% of my goal with some company matching gifts outstanding. WOW! Even I have to admit that’s astounding.

Are there secrets to successful fundraising? Probably. Do I know what they are? Not really. I’m going with my gut feeling on how I would like to be approached. I admit to email blasting people, but only sending reminders every 2-3 weeks. I like to think I’m not a daily annoyance!

And speaking of fundraising (!), here’s a link to my fundraising page: http://www.active.com/donate/konaNCASB13/PhyllisHowell_Challenge. If you feel the urge to donate, click there!

Leave a Reply

