Distraction Action

As wonderful as it is to be outside walking, I do need some kind of distraction to keep me moving. If I were left to my own devices (meaning, just my thoughts and me), I’d slow down and just plod along. I need some good music to keep the adrenaline pumping and my little legs moving!

I’ve made a playlist that has music from the 60s through today. Now when you read my list, just remember Thumper from “Bambi”: if you can’t something nice, don’t say anything at all. Ahem. My music taste may not be yours. You may not recognize some of the bands I have listed, you may decide to check a band out on YouTube and then say “Gah! How could she like that?” Well, I do. And keep in mind that I need music to keep my feet moving … all of these have a beat that I can walk to. If it were slower, it would end up taking me a zillion hours to finish a half-marathon because I’d walk too slow. If I got anything faster, I’d have to <gasp!> RUN! “Lovey don’t run, dontcha know?”

So, here’s my current playlist (called “Walking on Sunshine”), which right now lasts about 2-1/4 hours. I need to build it up to 4 hours to last me a half-marathon!

  • Animal (Neon Trees)
  • Barbie Girl (Aqua)
  • Boogie Wonderland (Earth Wind & Fire)
  • Canned Heat (Jamiroquai)
  • Down At The Twist And Shout (Mary Chapin Carpenter)
  • Europa And The Pirate Twins (Thomas Dolby)
  • Eyes Wide Open (Gotye)
  • Five O’Clock World (Vogues)
  • For Pete’s Sake (Monkees)
  • Gold On The Ceiling (The Black Keys)
  • In One Ear (Cage The Elephant)
  • Incense And Peppermints (Strawberry Alarm Clock)
  • It’s Raining Men (Weather Girls)
  • Kids In America (Kim Wilde)
  • Labels Or Love (Fergie)
  • Les Limites (Julien Doré)
  • The Letter (The Box Tops)
  • Lisztomania (Phoenix)
  • Marcia Baila (Les Rita Mitsouko)
  • Mas Que Nada (Sergio Mendes & Brasil ’66)
  • MoneyGrabber (Fitz & The Tantrums)
  • Mountain Man (Crash Kings)
  • Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na) (My Chemical Romance)
  • Pump It (The Black Eyed Peas)
  • Pumped Up Kicks (Foster The People)
  • The Reflex (Duran Duran)
  • Rock Lobster (The B-52’s)
  • Shining Star (Earth Wind & Fire)
  • Spotlight [Twilight Mix] (MUTEMATH)
  • Stare Into The Sun (Graffiti6)
  • Stoney End (Barbra Streisand)
  • Supermassive Black Hole (Muse)
  • Thin! (SkinnySongs)
  • Time Warp (Richard O’Brien)
  • Tubthumping (Chumbawamba)
  • Viva La Vida (Coldplay)
  • Walkin’ On The Sun (Smash Mouth)
  • Walking In L.A. (Missing Persons)
  • When You Were Young (The Killers)

Have any suggestions for good songs to include for walking briskly? Thanks!

One thought on “Distraction Action

Leave a Reply

