Old Hollywood still alive and kicking

Back in January, I went down to Los Angeles and had some portraits taken. Now most of us would think of glamour shots when we think of “portraits” these days, and then we think of those mall shots where women are made up to look like a pageant queen from Texas (not that there’s too much wrong with that, but there is a little bit wrong with that). I’m not really a big hair/big makeup person and wanted something different than the Olin Mills or Glamour Shots experience.

I remembered that about 10 years ago, I had heard about people getting old Hollywood-type portraits taken and decided to look into it again. I did some searching (thank you, Google) and found the website of a man named Roger James (http://www.rogerganiajames.com/). Now those were the exactly the type of photographs I was thinking of … unique, stylish, dramatic. Something that not everyone had done.

I made an appointment, and Craig and I drove down to LA for the weekend. Luckily, one of our close friends lives quite near the photographer, so we could also spend time visiting him. we had a really fun weekend (terrible weather notwithstanding), visiting the Petersen Automotive Museum and going to a few movies.

The whole session took about 2-1/2 hours. I wore very little makeup and all the hairstyles and props were provided by the photographer. It was so much fun! I’ve never had portraits taken before (senior pictures in high school do not count!) so this was a whole new experience.

I’ll leave it to you to determine if the pictures were a success or not: http://www.thecreeper.net/phylglamshots/. I like to think they were …

Leave a Reply

